Celebrating the Season and Baking Christmas Cookies

IMG_2578

 

IMG_2490

 

We’ve been baking up a storm the past 3 nights. I have been so into cooking and baking again and loving every minute in the kitchen with my girls.

IMG_2448

 

IMG_2383

 

IMG_2456

 

IMG_2576

 

IMG_2575

 

IMG_2404

 

IMG_2417

 

IMG_2429

 
 

We baked some Swedish Honey Cookies, sweetened with a bit of honey and erythritol as an experiment, and used whole wheat flour (as one of our healthier cookie options). We also baked a ton of butter shortbread cookies, made from butter, icing sugar and white flour. The only way to have awesome, melt-in-your-mouth shortbread, is to do it the original buttery/sugary way. My family really loves these cookies, so we are taking them over there tomorrow to keep there until our family Christmas gathering on the 20th of December.

IMG_2411
IMG_2580
IMG_2442
The girls were happy that I bought icing and sprinkles too (which I never really allow), but I am breaking some rules here and allowing them some sugar and color for Christmas time. We had a lot of fun decorating the cookies and making them each unique and beautiful. I was dead tired after so much baking (as you can tell).
IMG_2588
IMG_2590
IMG_2596
IMG_2599
IMG_2603
IMG_2543
IMG_2538
IMG_2526
IMG_2465
IMG_2478
IMG_2509
IMG_2513
A huge part of Christmas and advent to us is the love and compassion of Christ. We are planning on delivering a whole bunch of cookies to neighbors and friends this year. I have so many advent plans and am so excited for Christmas this year with my girls! The holidays are about remembering the love and deed of Christ and feeling divine reverence for the approaching Holy Night. Every time I play Christmas music, songs like O’ Holy Light and Silent Night make me cry. I love God so much!

 

Nights around here are spent listening to Christmas music and baking these days. We are also reading Christ Legends as our next book of choice. We also plan to read the classic, A Christmas Carol, by Charles Dickens. We have watched a few Christmas shows too, like Little House on the Prairie Christmas, Frosty the Snowman and The Grinch.
I love this time of year!

 

What have you been up to so far in planning advent or Christmas? Do you have any family traditions?

 

tiffany6
2 thoughts on “Celebrating the Season and Baking Christmas Cookies

  1. Looks like you guys have jumped into the season, love it! We have our Advent plans all ready, as you know, and I am excited to get started. The Advent spiral is ready to be set up, and we will be reading The Light in the Lantern, Stories for Advent each night, along with other Christmas books, including St. Nicholas.

    I bet my little man would love to watch the Little House on the Prairie Christmas, we are just about to start the last book in the series.

    Hope you guys are having a wonderful weekend. xo

I Would Love To Hear From You!

