Getting To Know The Chakras

86429d250d59809c77eb47b25af62f30

Recently, I have taken a real interest in psychic and intuitive awareness and learning more about these gifts that I (and we all) have. It has been really eye-opening for me and I wanted to write and share more on this here on my blog.

Today specifically, I wanted to share about the chakra system. I had heard of the chakras for years, but never really knew what they were or why they were important. In fact, years ago, chakras would have seemed very weird to me and I wouldn’t have cared at all to know anything about them.

The chakra system really is quite normal and is something that we all have. The chakras are energy centers in our body that can be blocked or overly active from time to time. However, there are simple things that we can do in everyday life to balance our chakras and keep the energy moving freely within our body so that we can be holistically healthy in body, mind and spirit and best able to love ourselves, love others and be of light and service in the world.

The following is some helpful information for you to keep your chakras in balance and keep the energy flowing in your body, mind and spirit.

The first chakra is called the Root Chakra or Base Chakra and is located at the base of our spine. It is ruby red in color.

Base or Root Chakra

Name – Muladhara

Color – Ruby Red

Sound – Lam

Glands – Adrenals

Connected with – Instincts, survival, safety, food, clothing, shelter, financial concerns and physical body.

If this energy center is blocked or depleted – You will have a feeling of not being yourself, not feeling grounded and of being out of balance. You will feel more concerned about your body and about you physical self’s survival needs, rather than focusing on your spirituality and higher matters. You may feel a need for the approval of others, be tired, lazy and unmotivated and be overly cautious. You may find yourself overeating or eating for emotional rather than physical purposes, feel depressed and struggle with addictions. You may have a low sex drive and feel unattractive or undesirable sexually. You may lack confidence and struggle with insecurity.

If unbalanced, physically you may feel – Constipation, lower back problems, insomnia and be more prone to illness.

If this energy center is overly active – You may feel angry, aggressive, impulsive and/or hyperactive. You may feel the need to control yourself and others.

To balance this chakra –

  • Dance
  • Practice yoga
  • Practice tai chi
  • Imagine roots grounding you to the earth from the base of your spine, holding you securely to the earth and keeping you safe and secure.

Affirm –

  • I am safe and secure
  • My needs are met by the divine and I can relax
  • I trust the wisdom of my body
  • I love my body
  • I am centered
  • I am balanced
  • I am right where I need to be
  • I am grateful that I have all that I need

Supporting Gemstones – Obsidian, Smokey Quartz, Garnet

Supporting Essential Oils – Patchouli, Sandalwood and Rosemary

Foods – Root vegetables and grounding foods grown inside of the earth, like carrots, parsnips, potatoes, sweet potatoes, beets, rutabagas and turnips. Eat foods that are red in color, like raspberries, strawberries, pomegranate, cherries, cranberries, red apples, pink grapefruit, rhubarb, red peppers and tomatoes.

The second Chakra os the sacral chakra. It is orange in color and is located two fingers below the navel.

Sacral Chakra

Name – Svadhishthana

Color – Orange

Sound – Vam

Glands – Testes/Ovaries

Connected with – Emotions, desires, creativity, sexuality.

If this energy center is blocked or depleted – You may feel a low sex drive, feel introverted, withdrawn, worry or feel anxious, care and worry about what other people think of you. You may feel introverted and antisocial.

If unbalanced, physically you may feel – Lower back or kidney problems. Reproductive organ dysfunctions. Menstrual problems. Bladder problems. Muscle discomfort.

If this energy center is overly active – You may feel sexually aggressive, jealous or possessive.

To balance this chakra –

  • Enjoy life with passion and excitement
  • Do things that make you happy and come alive
  • Dance
  • Practice yoga
  • Express your sexuality/allow yourself to look and feel good
  • Use color meditation
  • Nurture yourself

Affirm –

  • I am deeply abundant
  • I allow myself to feel my true feelings
  • I am desirable and attractive
  • My body is sacred
  • I am creative and abundant
  • I allow myself to express my creativity
  • I am energized and in perfect health

Emotional Expression – Self-Love & Self-Care

Emotional Imbalance – Low self-esteem, fear of intimacy and distrust. Shyness, timidity.

Supporting Gemstones – Carnelian and Amber

Supporting Essential Oils – Jasmine, Ylang Ylang, Rose

Foods – Oranges, carrots, papaya, mango.

The third chakra is the Solar Plexus Chakra located between our navel and our rib cage/the stomach area.

Solar Plexus Chakra

Name – Manipura

Color – Yellow

Sound – Ram

Glands – Pancreas/Adrenals

Connected with – Power, vitality, self-control, self- esteem, confidence, emotions, feelings, clairsentience. It is a major psychic reception area. We should learn how to properly close down our solar plexus chakra so that we do not pick up the unwanted energies from other people or places.

If this energy center is blocked or depleted – You may feel judgmental, plan things without following through with them and/or worry too much. You may fear rejection, have self-esteem issues and be indecisive.

If this energy center is unbalanced – You may feel pessimistic and overly sensitive.

If this energy center is balanced – You will feel confident and ready to take on the world.

If unbalanced, physically you may feel – nervous, exhausted, suffer from stomach problems and digestive issues or ulcers. You may have arthritis, diabetes or adrenal imbalances.

To balance this chakra –

  • Energy Healing
  • Self -empowerment
  • Stay away from energy draining people and situations

Affirm –

  • I love and accept myself
  • I am strong
  • I am confident
  • I appreciate myself
  • I am free to be myself
  • I make positive, uplifting life choices
  • I succeed in my creative endeavors
  • I allow the power of the divine to flow through me and use me creatively and expressively

Emotional Expression – Joy, Optimism, Enthusiasm.

Emotional Imbalance –  Loss of energy, Hyperactive.

Supporting Gemstones – Citrine, Topaz

Supporting Essential Oils – Rosemary, Geranium, Peppermint

Foods – Yellow foods like, yellow peppers, pineapple, bananas, corn, mangoes. Whole grains, such as oats, millet, quinoa, rice, barley, amaranth, wheat and corn.

The fourth chakra is the Heart  Chakra. It is green in color and is located at our heart’s center in our chest.

Heart Chakra

Name – Anahata

Color – Green

Sound – Yam

Glands – Thymus

Connected with – Unconditional love, compassion, joy, balance, relationships and healing. It is the link between body, mind and spirit. It is where your past hurts, disappointments and emotional scars reside.

If this energy center is blocked or depleted – You may feel anger, jealousy, hatred, resentment, unforgiveness and judgment towards others. You will lack compassion, have difficulty with loving others and letting love in and feel sad and/or moody.

If this energy center is balanced – You will feel unconditional love for yourself and all beings, have love and compassion for yourself and others and feel trusting and open. Be generous, caring, and kind-hearted.

If unbalanced, physically you may feel – heart problems, asthma, shallow breathing and lung diseases.

To balance this chakra –

  • Face past emotional issues
  • Love yourself and others/do kind acts for yourself and others
  • Let go of judgment, see though the eyes of love
  • Forgive
  • Journal your feelings
  • Go for therapy or counseling or find someone who you can talk openly and intimately with about your feelings
  • Get outside in nature
  • Work through any emotional blockages
  • Paint
  • Write
  • Draw
  • Be crafty
  • Give and get massage

Affirm –

  • I am love
  • I love others and all that I see
  • I am grateful for this life and all that I have
  • I forgive
  • I see life through the eyes of love
  • I let go of what does not serve me
  • My heart is open
  • I speak love
  • I know love
  • I listen to my heart and not my head
  • I follow my heart
  • I allow love to fill me and to guide me

Emotional Expression –  Love, Truth, Compassion, Integrity

Emotional Imbalance –  Trust issues, Loss of Clarity, Hopelessness

Supporting Gemstones – Rose Quartz, Green Jade, Emerald

Supporting Essential Oils – Rose, Jasmine

Foods – Green foods, like, honeydew melon, kiwi, green apples, green grapes, broccoli, zucchini, peas, green beans, leafy greens, kale, sprouts, celery, cucumber, green peppers.

The fifth Chakra is the Throat Chakra and is located at the larynx. It is blue in color and is connected with communication.

Throat Chakra

Name – Vishuddha

Color – Light Blue

Sound – Ham

Glands – Thyroid

Connected with – Communication, sound, creativity, clairaudience.

If this energy center is blocked or depleted – You may feel the need to constantly clear your throat. You may feel as if you are unable to express yourself and to speak truth.

If this energy center is underactive – You may feel a resistance to change, slow to respond and easily surrender to others.

If this energy center is balanced – You will feel inspired to speak and express your truth and to feel creative and ready to express your creativity.

If unbalanced, physically you may feel – Sore throat, skin irritations, ear infections, tension in neck and shoulders. Thyroid conditions. Mouth and ear issues. Swollen glands, hearing problems, lack of creativity and mood swings.

To balance this chakra –

  • Hum
  • Sing
  • Chant
  • Say what you mean
  • Be open and honest in your communication with others

Affirm –

  • I speak truth
  • I speak love
  • I am gentle and kind with my words
  • I am honest
  • I am authentic
  • I express my truth

Emotional Expression –  Self-Knowledge and Self-Expression. Speaking one’s truth from a higher consciousness.

Emotional Imbalance –  Frustration and Anxiety

Supporting Gemstones –  Lapis, Sodalite

Supporting Essential Oils – Sandalwood, Frankincense

Foods – Blueberries, Blackberries.

The sixth Chakra is the Third Eye Chakra and is located between the brows, in the center of the forehead. It is indigo in color and is connected with intuition, clairvoyance and higher levels of consciousness. It assists with psychic and intuitive inner guidance and is connected with the heart and throat chakras.

Third Eye Chakra

Name – Ajna

Color – Indigo

Sound – Om

Glands – Pituitary

Connected with – Clairvoyance, psychic and intuitive awareness, imagination.

If this energy center is blocked or depleted – You may feel a fear of success, unable to see the bigger picture, feel lost in worry or stuck in the moment. You will feel unable to visualize a successful future or see any positive future before you. You will feel hopeless and unhappy.

If this energy center is underactive – You may feel forgetful, foggy-headed, tired, confused, unable to see past your present circumstance and visualize or manifest a positive and prosperous future.

If this energy center is balanced – You will feel in touch with your intuition and inner guidance. You will feel inspired to follow your intuition and as though you are guided and on the right track.

If unbalanced, physically you may feel – Eye strain, vision problems, headaches, lack of concentration, confusion, impaired judgment, depression, hopelessness, fear, anxiety, sleep problems and nightmares.

To balance this chakra –

  • Let go of perfectionism
  • Paint/be creative do something that allows you to let go of perfectionism
  • Focus on service (ego delays happiness)
  • Ask for help and protection
  • Let go
  • Surrender
  • Be at peace

Affirm –

  • I trust that everything is working out for my good
  • I surrender to the Universe
  • I allow myself to see
  • I see a bright and prosperous future
  • I allow myself to feel inspired
  • I allow myself to follow my intuition and inner guidance
  • I am allow myself to be conscious
  • My spiritual vision is clear
  • I am spiritually awake
  • I see divine light in everybody
  • I always follow and honor my intuition
  • Om

Emotional Expression –  Self-Realization, Inspiration, Imagination, Intelligence. Mindfulness, Gratitude

Emotional Imbalance –  Over Analytical, Forgetful, Loss of Memory

Supporting Gemstones –  Lapis Lazuli, Opal, Sapphire

Supporting Essential Oils – Lemongrass, Frankincense

Foods – Purple/red foods, such as red onion, blueberries, blackberries, purple grapes, natural chocolate and herbal teas.

The seventh Chakra is the Crown Chakra and is located  at the top of the head. It is violet, white or gold in color and is our link to the universe and higher consciousness.

Crown Chakra

Name – Sahasrara

Color – Violet/White/Gold

Sound – Silence

Glands – Pituitary

Connected with – The Universe, Higher Consciousness, Wisdom, Spiritual insight. It is where spiritual light and energy are received and dispersed throughout the aura. It is the thousand petaled lotus flower and the receiver of light. It is purity.

If this energy center is blocked or depleted – You may feel cut, isolated, frustrated, depressed, unhappy, doubtful, blocked, uninspired. Greedy, materially-minded. Caught up in fears or dogma.

If this energy center is under active – You may feel a separation from others and from the divine. Feeling of loneliness in the universe. Lack of belief in connectedness to others and to our world. A feeling of needing to conform to a rigid belief system.

If this energy center is balanced – You will feel a flow of universal wisdom and a feeling of complete harmony and physical well-being. Bad health, chronic exhaustion.

If unbalanced, physically you may have – Paralysis or MS as this chakra is connected with the central nervous system.

To balance this chakra –

  • Take time to be still and silent
  • Meditate
  • Focus on breathing and breath work
  • Practice Yoga
  • Use color therapy
  • Acupuncture
  • Be open to new ideas
  • Know yourself

Affirm –

  • I am a being of light and love
  • I am divinely guided and inspired
  • I am one with the universe
  • I am one with all of creation
  • I live my life through my higher self
  • I am enlightened
  • I am

Emotional Expression – Peace, Fulfillment, Gratitude, Freedom

Emotional Imbalance – Depression, Loneliness

Supporting Gemstones – Amethyst, Clear Quartz Crystal

Supporting Essential Oils – Lavender, Valerian

This chakra is more about spiritual, rather than material, physical nourishment. Get outside in the sun and fresh air. Breathe. Relax. Be.

I hope that you have found this post helpful or insightful today. I have more to write on various spiritual topics, but not so much time to sit and pull all of my thoughts together.

31576dd5fa0b77347a41f960a50703be

IMG_3901

My Rainbow Chakra Painting

Much Love!

tiffany6

6 thoughts on “Getting To Know The Chakras

  1. I love your chakra painting. I took a chakra yoga class a few years ago, each week focusing on a different chakra, it was pretty amazing. I am also fortunate to be able to connect with someone who works on balancing the chakras, although it has been awhile since I have seen her. Might be time for a visit. I find it all very interesting, and am always keen to learn more.

    Thanks for sharing.

I Would Love To Hear From You!

